6 Louisiana parishes tagged as disaster areas due to drought

  • AP

NEW ORLEANS (AP) — Six Louisiana parishes have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by recent drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture gave the designation to Caldwell, Catahoula, Franklin, Madison, Richland and Tensas parishes on Nov. 23, making all qualified farm operators in those areas eligible for low interest emergency loans from the department’s Farm Service Agency.

Farmers and ranchers in the following Louisiana and Mississippi counties also qualify for assistance because their locations are contiguous. The Louisiana parishes are: Avoyelles, Jackson, Ouachita, Concordia, LaSalle, West Carroll, East Carroll, Morehouse and Winn. The Mississippi counties include Adams, Claiborne, Jefferson and Warren.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for help.

Additional information is available online at .


Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Content Sponsored By:
May Marketing 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
Swoop 728×90
Greenstar Insulation 728×90
Citizen’s National Bank 728×90
OneChiro 728×90
May Marketing 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
RGM Marketing 728×90
Pel-State Leaderboard 728×90
Bayou State Roofing 728×90
LA Home Center 728×90
Diamond Realty 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
RSHV – 728×90 Banner

Will Broyles

Will Broyles is the owner of

Related Articles

Back to top button