ETBU’s Baca Named a Semi-Finalist for Campbell Trophy

  • Staff Reporter

MARSHALL, Texas – For the second time in three years, the East Texas Baptist University football has a nominee for the William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Mazda. Senior Brian Baca has been nominated for the award and is one of 185 players from across all divisions up for the award. In 2017, Ty Parsons was a semi-finalist for the award.

Baca graduated early from ETBU and is enrolled as a graduate student playing in his final year. He is an All-ASC first-team selection, four-time ASC Player of the Week, and been on the “Team of the Week” once. He is in the career top five in five different offensive categories and holds two single game records. In two years as a starter, he has helped ETBU to two winning seasons as the program has produced four straight which is a new record.

“Brian is a great leader for our team. He leads spiritually, academically, and athletically. His work ethic and communication skills are off the charts. He is a spiritual leader on the campus and has lead FCA for the past two years,” said head coach Brian Mayper. “He has always been one of the top academic student-athletes on campus, graduated in three years, and is currently working on his Masters Degree. Brian has a heart of a servant leader and helps lead our elementary school service program mentoring students while also being a regular leader at FCA summer camps.”

With a 3.7 grade point average in three years, Baca was a two-time ASC All-Academic team member and a CoSIDA Academic All-District selection. In his time at ETBU he has been able to work with Operation Christmas Child, mentored junior high students in Marshall, and volunteer at local aquestrian center to help soldiers with PTSD and at Isaiah 51 Farms helping recovering addicts. Being involved with Fellowship of Christian Athletes, he has been the Campus President, been a FCA regional speaker, and worked as a FCA Huddle leader at FCA Sports Camp at Texas A&M for four years.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 30, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2019 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 30th Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Article sourced from provided press release.

Content Sponsored By:
May Marketing 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
RGM Marketing 728×90
May Marketing 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
Greenstar Insulation 728×90
LA Home Center 728×90
RSHV – 728×90 Banner
Diamond Realty 728×90
Pel-State Leaderboard 728×90
Citizen’s National Bank 728×90
Swoop 728×90
OneChiro 728×90
Bayou State Roofing 728×90

Related Articles

Back to top button