FootballPress ReleasesShreveportSports

Independence Bowl Announces All-Time Team in Celebration of College Football’s 150th Season

  • Erik Evenson — Director of Media and Community Relations Walk-On’s Independence Bowl

SHREVEPORT, La. – In celebration of the 150th anniversary of college football, the Walk-On’s Independence Bowl have named the 44-year-old game’s all-time team by position – as voted on by the media that currently covers and has covered the Independence Bowl.

The team features players from each of the five decades in the bowl’s history – led by 11 players from the 1990’s. Players from 15 different schools are represented on the team, with LSU leading the way with five players. Texas A&M and Virginia Tech are both represented by three different players, while Louisiana Tech, McNeese State and Ole Miss all have two players on the team. The 1995 Independence Bowl between LSU and Michigan State provides the most players of all individual games with six players – five LSU positions and one Michigan State player. The Independence Bowl’s All-Time Team features five College Football Hall of Famers (Ray Childress – Texas A&M, Willie Roaf – Louisiana Tech, Bruce Smith – Virginia Tech, Leonard Smith – McNeese State, and Scott Thomas – Air Force), as well as two Pro Football Hall of Famers (Roaf and Smith). The entire Independence Bowl All-Time Team is listed by position below:



  • Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2002)

Running Back

  • Kevin Faulk (LSU, 1995 & 1997)
  • Deuce McAllister (Ole Miss, 1998 & 1999)

Wide Receiver

  • Eddie Kennison (LSU, 1995)
  • Isaiah Ford (Virginia Tech, 2015)

Tight End

  • Jaylen Samuels (NC State, 2016)

Offensive Line

  • Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech, 1990)
  • Flozell Adams (Michigan State, 1995)
  • Alan Faneca (LSU, 1995 & 1997)
  • Pork Chop Womack (Mississippi State, 2000)
  • Andre Smith (Alabama, 2006 & 2007)


Defensive Line

  • Ray Childress (Texas A&M, 1981)
  • Bruce Smith (Virginia Tech, 1984)
  • Gabe Northern (LSU, 1995)
  • Von Miller (Texas A&M, 2009)


  • Lovie Smith (Tulsa, 1976)
  • Otis Wilson (Louisville, 1977)
  • Takeo Spikes (Auburn, 1996)

Defensive Back

  • Leonard Smith (McNeese State, 1980)
  • Scott Thomas (Air Force, 1983 & 1984)
  • Antonio Banks (Virginia Tech, 1993)
  • Roy Williams (Oklahoma, 1999)
  • Weldon Brown (Louisiana Tech, 2008)



  • David Hardy (Texas A&M, 1981)


  • Terry McFarland (McNeese State, 1976)

Kick & Punt Returner

  • Eddie Kennison (LSU, 1995)

Head Coach

  • David Cutcliffe (Ole Miss, 1998, 1999 & 2002 / Duke, 2018)

David Cutcliffe is the Independence Bowl’s winning-est coach with a record of 4-0 in four appearances -three with Ole Miss and one with Duke. Some of the most prominent and recognizable names have coached in the Independence Bowl throughout the game’s 43-year history. Other coaches receiving votes were Jack Doland (McNeese State, 1980), Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech, 1993 and 2015), Nick Saban (Michigan State, 1995/Alabama, 2007) and Steve Spurrier (South Carolina, 2005 and 2014).


The Walk-On’s Independence Bowl, the 11th-oldest bowl game, will play its 44th-edition on Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. CT at Independence Stadium in Shreveport, Louisiana. The Duke Blue Devils won their first Independence Bowl in 2018, defeating the Temple Owls 56-27. The Walk-On’s Independence Bowl enjoys primary conference agreements with the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) and Southeastern Conference (SEC), as well as backup agreements with the American Athletic Conference (AAC) and Conference USA (C-USA). The Walk-On’s Independence Bowl and Independence Bowl Foundation are prevalent in the Shreveport-Bossier City area throughout the year, hosting events to help enhance the economic impact and growth of our community. For more information, visit or follow the bowl on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @IndyBowl.

Content Sponsored By:
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
May Marketing 728×90
Bayou State Roofing 728×90
Pel-State Leaderboard 728×90
LA Home Center 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
RSHV – 728×90 Banner
Diamond Realty 728×90
OneChiro 728×90
Citizen’s National Bank 728×90
RGM Marketing 728×90
May Marketing 728×90
Swoop 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
Greenstar Insulation 728×90

Joel Rodgers

Joel Rodgers joined RSHV News 1 in January 2018 as a reporter/journalist. Prior to joining our team, Joel spent the previous 5 years as a morning show reporter, entertainment reporter, and sports reporter for a local television station. At 6’5”, he's the tallest reporter in the history of Shreveport, but it’s more than just his height that makes this Shreveport native stand out. His editing skills combined with his love for storytelling makes for a creative and talented addition to the RSHV News 1 team. After attending and graduating from Evangel Christian Academy, he earned his Bachelor’s degree in Broadcast Journalism from Northwestern State University. Joel is very active in the Shreveport community having won several competitions in recent years. In 2017, he danced his way to victory in the annual Susan G. Komen event, “Dancing for the Cure." He’s also won the “Mudbug Madness” Crawfish eating contest in back-to-back years and was named the top celebrity chef at the “Louisiana Food Prize” cooking competition. If you have a story idea, news tip, or just want to say "hey" - you can do so by emailing Joel Rodgers at

Related Articles

Back to top button