Tigers Swim Kicks Season Off with Intrasquad Meet

  • Staff Reporter

BATON ROUGE– The LSU Swimming and Diving team will suit up for the first time for the annual Purple and Gold Intrasquad, kick starting the Tigers’ 2019-2020 campaign. The event will take place at the LSU Natatorium on Saturday and will begin at 9 a.m. CT.


The Tigers will use this opportunity to compete in the pool for the first time this season. Coming off a year where four school records were broken and many more Tigers made their way on to the Top-Times List, swimming head coach Dave Geyer is excited to see his Tigers compete.

“The only expectation is that we come out early Saturday morning and compete to our fullest potential,” said Coach Geyer. “I think the best way I can describe our staff’s outlook right now is with a ton of contained optimism. The team is ready to compete. That’s their spot. On the blocks and ready to race.”


Saturday will also feature the first competition of the season for the LSU Diving Team. The 2018-2019 season saw five Tiger divers make their way to the 2019 NCAA Championships, resulting in a First Team All-American selection and two Honorable Mention All-Americans.

With a load of fresh faces, head diving coach Doug Shaffer is excited to see what the 2019-2020 season has in store.

“At this point our training is centered around setting the foundation for our season,” said Coach Shaffer. “We have been doing a lot of drills, skills, and strength and conditioning and are just beginning to touch our competitive lists. I’ve already seen great improvement and it will be exciting to test the waters Saturday.”


Gold team: David Boylan, Brooks Curry, Keagan Finley, Karl Luht, Julian Norman, Luca Pfyffer, Thomas Roark, Trent Schachter, Thomas Spradley, David Wahlen, Dakota Hurbis, Abigail Baumgartner, Kylie Bennett, Maddie Clifton, Lexi Daniels, Helen Grossman, Alexandria Ham, Alyssa Helak, Natalie Kucsan, Jolee Liles, Allie McDaid, Niamh Robinson, Katie Smith, Brittany Thompson, Aimee Wilson, Hayley Montague

Purple Team: Lewis Clough, Ben Hooper, Jack Jannasch, Cameron Karkoska, Matt Klotz, Brian McGroarty, Braden Nyboer, Michael Petro, Jeffrey Snoddy, Miguel Velasquez, Isak Vikstrom, Manny Vazquez Bas, Cayden Petrak, Ellie Baldwin, Kit Hanley, Grace Horton, Cassie Kalisz, Katarina Milutinovich, Ellen Pack, Olivia Paskulin, Emily Pye, Nicole Rozier, Summer Spradley, Olivia Taylor, Emily Van De Wiele, Isabella Buttaci, Johannah Cangelosi, Anne Tuxen


  1. 200-Yard Medley Relay
  2. Diving
  3. 200-Yard Individual Medley
  4. 100-Yard Freestyle
  5. 500-Yard Freestyle
  6. 100-Yard Breaststroke
  7. 100-Yard Backstroke
  8. 100-Yard Butterfly
  9. Diving
  10. 200-Yard Breaststroke
  11. 200-Yard Backstroke
  12. 200-Yard Butterfly
  13. 200-Yard Freestyle
  14. 200-Yard Freestyle Relay

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter and Instagram @LSUSwimDive. Article sourced from provided press release.

Content Sponsored By:
May Marketing 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
Greenstar Insulation 728×90
Glennas Pest Control 728×90
May Marketing 728×90
Swoop 728×90
Citizen’s National Bank 728×90
Bayou State Roofing 728×90
Diamond Realty 728×90
LA Home Center 728×90
Pel-State Leaderboard 728×90
OneChiro 728×90
RGM Marketing 728×90
Alto Landscaping 728×90
RSHV – 728×90 Banner

Related Articles

Back to top button